Wildlife TV

Learn interesting and funny plant and animal facts with videos and photos

[Top 10] ~ August 2013 Photos

on September 14, 2013

The African bush is filled with amazing photo opportunities which I don’t like to miss, however, after a while, I end up with hundreds of photos on my laptop and no one to show them to.

I manage to post some of the best images (such as the male Lion or the Cheetahs with kill) but for the majority of them I haven’t had the time or patience to write a proper entry about them so they linger around waiting to be forgotten.

For that reason I have decided that at the end of each month I’ll try to post a “top 10” photos for you to see. I apologise for starting this top 10 already half way through September but I promise that the next ones will be on time!
I have plenty more photos but I don’t want to end up “spamming” the blog with too many so I’ll post and organise them on the Wildlife TV Pinterest page. If you would like to see more of specific animals (birds, antelopes, predators, etc), landscapes or just South African wildlife in general feel free to follow the appropriate boards.

For now I hope you enjoy August’s selection!

 

Male African Lion (Panthera leo) uses some branches from a tree to scratch in the South African savannah.

Male African Lion (Panthera leo) uses some branches from a tree to scratch his head.

Small baby African Elephant (Loxodonta africana) keeps close to the mother for protection in the South African savannah.

Baby African Elephant (Loxodonta africana) keeps close to the mother for protection.

Two Cheetahs (Acinonyx jubatus) eat their latest kill, a baby Kudu (Tragelaphus strepsiceros) in the South African savannah.

Two Cheetahs (Acinonyx jubatus) eat their latest kill, a baby Kudu (Tragelaphus strepsiceros).
More Photos.

Female Klipspringer (Oreotragus oreotragus) runs across the road to meet her partner on the other side. Taken in the South African savannah.

Female Klipspringer (Oreotragus oreotragus) runs across the road to meet her partner on the other side.

Black Backed Jackal (Canis mesomelas) carries the tail of a Blue Wildebeest (Connochaetes taurinus) killed by Lions (Panthera leo) on the previous day. Take on the wild South African savannah.

Black Backed Jackal (Canis mesomelas) carries the tail of a Blue Wildebeest (Connochaetes taurinus) killed by the Lion (Panthera leo) pride on the previous day.

Male Waterbuck (Kobus ellipsiprymnus) standing proud on the South African savannah.

Male Waterbuck (Kobus ellipsiprymnus) standing proud on the South African savannah.

Big African Elephant (Loxodonta africana) bull eating some tasty leaves from a tree branch while keeping an eye on us. Taken on the wild South African savannah.

Big African Elephant (Loxodonta africana) bull eating some tasty leaves from a tree branch while keeping an eye on us.

Male Steenbok (Raphicerus campestris) foraging for food in the South African savannah.

Male Steenbok (Raphicerus campestris) foraging for food in the South African savannah.

Male Lion (Panthera leo), the king of the jungle, wandering around the savannah

Male Lion (Panthera leo), the king of the jungle, patrolling the savannah.
More Photos.

Sofia and Nick from Wildlife TV blog on the 28th August (Sofia's birthday)

Sofia and Nick on the 28th August (Sofia’s birthday)

Até à próxima!

~Sofia.


If you liked this entry, make sure you check out our Photography category.
Previous Photography entries:
[Photo] Cheetah with kill
[Photo] Lion: The King of the Jungle
Photo Previews 14
9 responses to “[Top 10] ~ August 2013 Photos

  1. Jim Morrison says:

    Love the photos! Thanks from Vancouver Island.

  2. Alison Jobling says:

    Nice photos, Sofia – that male waterbuck looks like a watercolour! And I’ve never heard of a klipspringer or a steenbok before.

    It’s a treat to see animals behaving pretty much like humans: scratching, eating, taking care of their young, running to meet their mates. Would be good if other humans could admit that we are all animals too, and go a bit easier on them.

    • Wildlife TV says:

      Thank you.
      I’m glad you liked them.
      I’ve been meaning to write a blog entry about Klipspringers but I keep postponing it..
      They are very interesting little antelopes. I’ll see if I can make some time to talk about them 🙂

      ~Sofia.

  3. The steenbok looks so much like the oribi we saw in Uganda – fell in love with them! Never seen a klipspringer up close before, they always seemed so flighty

    • Wildlife TV says:

      Yeah, there are several similar antelopes in Africa. The steenbok can be easily identified by the interesting pattern inside their ears (you can see in the photo).
      Klipspringers where I live are not easily spooked, they will often just stare at you from a distance, enough to take some nice photos. I even have a couple that live just behind my house. Just the other day I went for a shower and noticed some eyes staring at me from the bathroom window and there they were, just being a little pervy..

      ~Sofia.

      • Pervy klipspringers… I’m still jealous even if it makes them a touch sinister 😉

        Oribi have the patterned ears too – always in awe of the beautiful things in nature that occur in miniature. They look so delicate and intricate

      • Wildlife TV says:

        Ah, I wasn’t aware of the ear pattern in Oribis.
        I googled some images to see them and didn’t notice that so I assumed it was a steenbok characteristic.
        The more we learn!

        ~Sofia.

      • Its like a web – very delicate. They have a few distinct face markings I think.

        I really miss travelling to Africa and being in the bush – even if I only got to do it a handful of days here and there. It stays with you I think

Leave a Reply

